2018 Individual Award Winners

August 15th, 2018


Burnaby, BC – The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is pleased to continue announcing the 2018 team and individual award winners, as voted by the Board of Governors in consultation with their team executives and staff.

Earlier today, the WLA announced the following awards:

The Three-Star Award, given annually to the player who achieved the greatest number of “three-star” selections at the conclusion of each game. Players receive four points for a first star selection, three points as a second star, and two points as a third star. This year’s winner, with twenty points, is Logan Schuss from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Denny Huddleston Memorial Award for Regular Season Scoring Champion, is awarded at the end of the regular season to the player who scored the most goals in regular season play. With one hundred six points, this year’s winner is Logan Schuss from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Dorothy Robertson Award for Coach of the Year is awarded to a coach who has been selected as having been a top performer, based on the resources available to him. This year’s winner is Kaleb Toth from the Nanaimo Timbermen.

Finally, the Ed Bayley Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the Year is given in memory of Ed Bayley, an outstanding builder of the game of lacrosse in the lower mainland to the league’s outstanding rookie, as voted by the Board of Governors. This year’s winner is Tyler Pace of the Langley Thunder.

The announcement of 2018 awards concludes tomorrow with the announcement of the Outstanding Goaltender, Outstanding Defensive Player, and Outstanding Player.