2018 Outstanding Award Winners

August 16th, 2018


Burnaby, BC – The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is excited to conclude the 2018 team and individual award winners, as voted by the Board of Governors in consultation with their team executives and staff.

Earlier today, the WLA announced the following awards:

First, the Leo Nicholson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Goaltender was donated by H.N. Delmonico, and is awarded per his wishes to a goaltender who displays outstanding goal keeping ability all season, regardless of the statistics or standing of his team. This year’s winner is Frank Scigliano from the Maple Ridge Burrards.

The Gordon C. Nicholson Memorial Award for Outstanding Defensive Player was donated by the Nicholson family in memory of this former WLA Commissioner and long-time friend of lacrosse. It is awarded to a player demonstrating outstanding defensive abilities and possessing leadership qualities on and off the floor. This year’s winner is Mike Messenger from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

Finally, the Commission Trophy for Most Outstanding Player was donated by the members of the 1958 Inter-City Box Lacrosse League Commission, and is awarded to the overall most outstanding player in regular season play. This year’s Most Outstanding Player is Logan Schuss of the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Western Lacrosse Association is thrilled to congratulate all the winners, and all teams for an incredibly exciting 2018 regular season. The WLA Finals begin Friday night in Victoria where the Victoria Shamrocks will take on the Maple Ridge Burrards. Face off is at 6:30pm, webcast is available at live.wlalacrosse.com.


The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is an amateur league of men’s Senior A box lacrosse sanctioned by the Canadian Lacrosse Association. It consists of seven teams, based in cities throughout southwestern British Columbia. Each year, the playoff teams battle for the right to compete against the Major Series Lacrosse champion for the Mann Cup every September. The championship is hosted alternately between Ontario and British Columbia every year.