Announcing 2018 All-Star Teams

August 14th, 2018

Burnaby, BC – The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is thrilled to start announcing the 2018 team and individual award winners, as voted by the Board of Governors in consultation with their team executives and staff.

Earlier today, the WLA announced the second- and first-team all-stars; the week continues tomorrow with the announcement Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, the Three-Star Award, and Regular Season Scoring Champion; and finishing on Thursday with the Outstanding Defensive Player, Outstanding Goaltender, and Outstanding Player.

Second-Team All-Stars

Goalie – Alexis Buque (New Westminster)

Defence –Jordan Gilles (Nanaimo), Steve Priolo (Victoria)

Forward – Chase Fraser (Nanaimo), Eli McLaughlin (Burnaby), Jesse King (Victoria)

First-Team All-Stars

Goalie – Frank Scigliano (Maple Ridge)

Defence – Mike Messenger (New Westminster), Drew Belgrave (Nanaimo)

Forward – Curtis Dickson (Maple Ridge), Logan Schuss (New Westminster), Casey Jackson (Victoria)


The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is an amateur league of men’s Senior A box lacrosse sanctioned by the Canadian Lacrosse Association. It consists of seven teams, based in cities throughout southwestern British Columbia. Each year, the playoff teams battle for the right to compete against the Major Series Lacrosse champion for the Mann Cup every September. The championship is hosted alternately between Ontario and British Columbia every year.