Announcing the 2019 Regular Season Awards

Burnaby, BC - The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) Board of Governors has voted, and the League is proud to release the first of its regular season awards for the hotly contested 2019 season.

The awards being handed out are:

Denny Huddleston Memorial Award for Regular Season Scoring Leader

Regular Season Three-Star Award

2nd Team All-Stars

1st Team All-Stars

Ed Bayley Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the Year

Dorothy Roberton Award for Coach of the Year

Les Wingrove Memorial Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year

Leo Nicholson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Goaltender

Commission Trophy for Most Valuable Player

Starting now with the two statistics-based awards for the regular season scoring leader and three-star winner, the Denny Huddleston Memorial Award was donated in 1962 in memory of former lacrosse and professional hockey player Denny Huddleston, and is awarded annually to the league scoring champion. With 31 goals and 59 assists for a total of 90 points, this year’s regular season scoring champion is Mitch Jones of the New Wesminster Salmonbellies.

The Three-Star Award is given to the player who receives the most points in three-star rankings at the end of the season. A First Star selection is worth four points, second star worth three points, and third star worth two points. This year’s Regular Season Three-Star Award goes to Robert Church of the Burnaby Lakers.

Stay tuned to social media and; we will continue tomorrow with the 2nd and 1st team all-stars, Monday with Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year, and Wednesday with Defensive Player of the Year, Outstanding Goaltender, and Most Valuable Player.


Tickets for Game 3 of the WLA Playoff Semi-finals can be purchased online. Please be advised, the Office is closed during the playoffs and tickets are available for purchase at the Q! Centre weekdays & gameday 9:00am to 5:00pm, or by calling us at: 250.478.ROCK (7625).