Announcing the 2019 Rookie and Coach of the Year

Burnaby, BC - The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) Board of Governors has voted, and the League is proud to release its regular season awards for the hotly contested 2019 season.

We continue today with our first two individual awards, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year.

The Rookie of the Year is presented in memory of Ed Bayley, an outstanding builder of the game in the lower mainland, to the league’s outstanding rookie. To be eligible, a player must have played at least ten games in Senior “A” in their first year of eligibility. This year’s winner is Chris Boushy of the Victoria Shamrocks.

The Dorothy Robertson Award is presented annually to the WLA coach selected by the league to have been a top performer, based on the resources available to him. This year’s winner is Peter Tellis of the Burnaby Lakers.

Finally for today, not an individual award but a team award, the Victoria Shamrocks take home the Stan Shillington Award, donated by the late Les Wingrove in honour of long-time lacrosse statistician, and presented annually to the league’s regular season champion.

Stay tuned to social media and; the league awards conclude on Wednesday with Defensive Player of the Year, Outstanding Goaltender, and Most Valuable Player.