Announcing the Outstanding Award Winners

Burnaby, BC - The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) Board of Governors has voted, and the League is proud to release its regular season awards for the hotly contested 2019 season.

We conclude this year’s awards with the awards for Outstanding Goaltender, Defensive Player of the Year, and Most Valuable Player.

First, the Leo Nicholson Memorial Trophy was donated by the late H. N. Delmonico to be presented to the league’s most outstanding goaltender - but not using goalkeeping statistics as a guide. It is to be based solely on outstanding goalkeeper ability displayed during the season. This year’s winner is Frank Scigliano of the Maple Ridge Burrards.

The Les Wingrove Memorial Trophy was recently named in honour of the coach, manager, general manager, executive, and overall builder of the game for many decades. It is presented to the player demonstrating outstanding defensive abilities, effective skill in killing penalties, and possessing leadership qualities on and off the floor. This year’s winner is Graeme Hossack of the Victoria Shamrocks.

Finally, the Commission Trophy for the Most Valuable Player was donated by members of the 1958 Inter-City Box Lacrosse League Commission, awarded annually to the most outstanding player in regular season player. This year’s winner is Robert Church of the Burnaby Lakers.

This wraps up the 2019 WLA Regular Season Awards; congratulations to all those players selected for honours this year and thank you to all the players, coaches, executive, volunteers, staff, and most importantly the fans for making 2019 one of the most exciting seasons in recent history! Stay tuned to to follow the WLA Playoffs on the Road to the Mann Cup!