Victoria Shamrocks 2017 award recipients

Victoria – The Shamrocks battled through 18 regular season games and 12 playoff games in 2017 including the WLA Finals, but were defeated by the New Westminster Salmonbellies.  Friday was an evening to celebrate the accomplishments as the team handed out their 2017 awards at the Four Points Sheraton.

Team Awards

George Blackstock Memorial Award for the Most Valuable Player – Corey Small

(Presented by Shamrocks Governor/President Jim Hartshorne)

Jim “Pee Wee” Bradshaw Award for the Rookie of the Year – Jake Archdekin

Mason Sheldrick Leadership Award – Corey Small

(Presented by General Manager Chris Welch)

Fred Wooster Memorial Award for the Unsung Hero – Cody Hagedorn

(Presented by Assistant Coach John Hamilton)

Ken Alexander Memorial Award for the Best Defensive Player – Steve Priolo

(Presented by Assistant Coach Art Webster)

Chris Hall Memorial Award for the Player with the Most Competitive Spirit as Selected by his Teammates – Steve Priolo

(Presented by last years recipient Greg Harnett)

John Crowther Memorial Award for the Highest Scorer – Corey Small

(Presented by Head Coach Bob Heyes)

Leon Hall Memorial Award for Outstanding Service & Dedication to the Game of Lacrosse – Delbert Whynot

(Presented by Assistant General Manager Rod Wade)

Most Popular Player Award as Voted by the Fans – Ben McCullough

Lawrie Smith Memorial Award for the Volunteer of the Year – Murray and Ev Rhode

(Presented by Jackie Smith and Wayne Lilleston)

League Awards

Denny Huddleston Memorial Award for the WLA Regular Season Scoring Champion – Corey Small

1st Team All-Star – Corey Small

2nd Team All-Star – Steve Priolo

Victoria Shamrocks 2018 season tickets are on sale and can be renewed or purchased by calling 250-478-7625.  Get more information on tickets and the benefits HERE